Asia Reviewer Maniac

Here to unveil what Asian pop culture has to offer

BESTie(베스티)’s “Love Options(연애의 조건)” MV: a flirty/cutesy/slightly-sexy concept…wait, what’s that?

Leave a comment

Hey guys! I’m back with another Kpop MV review, this time is BESTie’s new comeback single “Love Options”!!! But once again, I couldn’t hep but scroll down into the comments section, which is form now on FOREVER FORBIDDEN!!! Seriously netizens, is this what you spend your spare time doing?? Bashing on the fact that 3 out of the 4 members were from EXID is NOT something that needs to be brought up. They are now happy and are promoting IN A DIFFERENT GROUP! Live with it!

They are finally back with a great song, but a weird hybrid concept

They are finally back with a great song, but a weird hybrid concept

*sigh* Let’s start the real thing…

So, for their comeback in three months (yes, it’s only been that long), these girls have now begun to venture out from their beginning image (which has been to rock the aeygo with a slight hint of sexiness) but now…I’m not really quite sure what it is. Please give me a sec to explain myself.

In the beginning, you see all four girls in tight, short-hemmed dresses (and when I say tight, I mean TIGHT) and instantly you think “OMG, they look so mature and sexy~~”…but then give them another 20 seconds and then you realise “…okay, this has now officially lost it’s sexiness…damn!”

But then, it turns back to the dance, and it goes all “looooooooooooooook at these perfect figures we have here, all mature and sexy ;)” and I am left in a black hole because I really don’t get what they are trying to put forward. I am a person who really prefers consistency, especially when it comes to MVs and comeback concepts.

The song itself is really interesting however sadly, LOENENT at this point in time (as I am writing this review) hasn’t translated into English yet. Below is the translation of the song I found from another blog site:

He’s too short and his face is too big
He’s too nice, he probably has a lot of girls
He acts too cocky all day
I don’t expect much, I don’t expect much

A person who’s slightly tall, who slightly resembles Kang Dong Won and understands a girl’s heart
Who has a lot of money, who doesn’t throw big events
But gives me 100 roses, a diamond necklace and ring

There’s a reason why I can’t love, a reason why I’m still single
There’s a reason, there’s a reason, there’s a reason
Hey, I don’t expect much
There’s a reason why I can’t date, a reason why I go out alone
There’s a reason, there’s a reason, there’s a reason
Hey, I don’t expect much

I don’t expect much, I don’t expect much
Wow, how funny, you’re saying I’m the problem? What more can I expect?
A guy who’s normal, who won’t fall behind wherever he goes
A guy who will tell me I’m prettier than Song Hye Gyo, a guy who will accept my personality
A guy who only knows me as a girl, I like a guy like that

A person who’s slightly tall, who slightly resembles Kang Dong Won and understands a girl’s heart
Who has a lot of money, who doesn’t throw big events
But gives me 100 roses, a diamond necklace and ring

There’s a reason why I can’t love, a reason why I’m still single
There’s a reason, there’s a reason, there’s a reason
Hey, I don’t expect much
There’s a reason why I can’t date, a reason why I go out alone
There’s a reason, there’s a reason, there’s a reason
Hey, I don’t expect much

Honestly, what more do I need? What’s important in love?
I just need you to only look at me, only love me, only cherish me

Found from the link: http://popgasa.com/2013/10/16/bestie-love-options-%EC%97%B0%EC%95%A0%EC%9D%98-%EC%A1%B0%EA%B1%B4/#more-10570

The song itself sounds like a ass-kicking track, but it would have felt more suitable in a MV of them trying to chase for a guy, whilst being aware that they are probably not worthy of him. However, with the meaning of the song, not everything in this MV fits with the meaning of the song, which leads to this misinterpretation about their preferred concept that they want to promote. What it ends up being is just an unclear mish-mash hybrid of concepts all in one, leading me to think really weirdly about them, and whether or not I actually understand this group.

The MV throughout goes back and forth between themes, and the sudden juxtaposition between both tough/sexy and cutesy/innocent is really uncomfortable. The clear example is around the time when the song comes to the rap bit, but in between it a member is smiling whilst pointing at the expensive looking car, and then it jumps back to the rapping member who is looking tough leaning against the car…it was really sudden and really awkward…

Sexy...

Sexy…

Cute...

Cute…

And then back to sexy...WTF?

And then back to sexy…WTF?

So, what I want to say is that the song is great! I’m really going to keep listening to it once I am able to grab hold of it however, the MV itself has left me in a real pickle. Not too sure what they were trying to put forward with it, but in the end for those hardcore fans out there, you probably won’t find any problems with it huh?

Anyways, check out the MV for yourselves and let me know what you think of it 🙂 Thanks for reading!

❤ Yami Hyunnie ^^~

Author: Hyunnie

Hello~~ ^^ I'm a young blogger opening her first ever blog in order to share to the world reviews on some of the best and worst Asian dramas, movies, music; you name it! I am also currently guest-posting on Dramafever News. Mainly, I post about dramas on that site so if you are interested, check me out there! Please fill free to comment on this site and maybe suggest some stuff for me to talk about ^^ Hope you guys enjoy and see you later!

Leave a Reply

